Oakland Protests for Oscar Grant

Around 4PM the verdict for the Johannes Mehserle case came out. I myself wasn’t too enthusiastic about the results, but who am I to say. I didn’t follow the case through the whole 19 months but I felt the punishment wasn’t that severe. From watching the video that was posted on Youtube I felt murder was the case. Well I did go out to Oakland after the verdict was announced and it was way more then I expected. The crowd wasn’t that bad and it didn’t get crazy out of hand until the sun went down. The huge amount of police presence added fuel to the flame. Once the sun went down the splinter groups took over and you could see them reek havoc down Broadway. Seen a few stores get looted, windows broken and tagging on various windows. Well anyways, Hopefully the Federal Court system does step in to take a look at the case.

Leave a Reply

